Neil Turner's Blog

Blogging about technology and randomness since 2002

About me

Me and Christine

I’m Neil Turner, and this is my blog. You can find full information about the blog in the Colophon, but this page is about me personally.

I’m in my late twenties, and live in the small market town of Sowerby Bridge, in the Calder Valley in West Yorkshire, northern England. Currently, I live in an apartment with my wife Christine, who I met in 2009 and married in 2013. I was born in York, and lived there until I was 18.

Previously, I lived in Bradford for 8 years, and was a student at the University of Bradford where I studied an honours degree in Computing and Information Systems, and then a Postgraduate Diploma in Forensic Computing. I now work for the same university, in student admissions and recruitment. My work profile is here, and you can view more about my professional history in my CV or on LinkedIn.

Before meeting Christine, I dated and later lived with ‘Hari’, my previous girlfriend, for several years. ‘Hari’ is a pseudonym; we’re still friends.

I’m a geek. Computers have been a big part of my life, from using an Amstrad PCW in the 1980s through to my interest in Apple products now. I own a Mac Mini, iPhone and iPad, but I also use Windows a lot as well. I’m often called to fix family/friends’/colleagues’ computers, and sometimes blog about some of the more interesting problems and how I’ve solved them.

I’ve been blogging here since 2002 and also enjoy using other social media, especially Facebook, Twitter and Foursquare, where I am a level 2 superuser.

We don’t watch much TV but I’m avid fan on Doctor Who and Red Dwarf. Coupling was also one of my favourite sitcoms and I enjoy panel shows like Have I Got News For You and QI.

I’ve also long had an interest in photography and have owned cameras since the age of seven. Many of the photos that I have taken over the last ten years are on Flickr.

I’m not particularly keen on computer gaming in general, and don’t own any consoles, but I do play World of Warcraft from time to time, having been introduced to it by Hari. We were in progression raiding guilds for some time but I stopped playing the game intensively in 2009. I still enjoy it though.

I have an interest in public transport – my father worked for the railways and also commute by train to work every day. I don’t yet have a full driving license.